Russia Ukraine news LIVE: Russia uses thermobaric bombs in central Kyiv – Marca English

We are now into the sixth day of conflict between Ukraine and Russia, following Russian president Vladimir Putin‘s decision to invade the neighbouring country last Thursday morning. The start of this week has seen more sanctions introduced against Russia, yet this does not appear to be slowing them down – at least with regard to their invasion of Ukraine.

Russia Ukraine Live Blog

Stay up to date with the latest developments in Ukraine in this live blog.

01:33 GMT/ 19:33 CST: Russia is officially investigated for war crimes.

The Russian Government is officially under investigation by the Hague International Court for war crimes against hummanity.

00:48 GMT/ 18:48 CST: Russia uses thermobaric bombs.

They already used one of those during last night’s attaacks but the most recent one seems far more deadly. The entire sky went from dark to day in a matter of miliseconds. This is the weapon used for thermobaric of vacuum bombs.

00:20 GMT/ 18:20 CST: Four massive strikes reported in center Kyiv.

At around 02:00 a.m., there were another four massive strikes reported in central Kyiv.

23:56 GMT/ 17:56 CST: Map of how Russia is surrounding Kyiv.

Russia’s initial plan was to surround Kyiv in the first two days of the invasion but this didn’t work due to the people’s resilience. However, slowly but surely they are surrounding the city of Kyiv and moving to conquer they prime objective.

23:31 GMT/ 17:31 CST: President Joe Biden posts tweet against Russia.

In a recent Tweet from President Joe Biden’s official account, he described how the United States and it’s allies are responding to the invasion. Is this a way to taunt the Russian Government?

23:14 GMT/ 17:14 CST: Ukraine decides to no longer take Russia prisoners.

In a drastic turn of events, the Ukrainian military has announced they will no longer show mercy to captured Russian soldiers. They will all be executed due to their decision to bomb civilian populations in the country. Not long after this was posted, it was quickly erased.

22:58 GMT/ 16:58 CST: Netflix pauses future projects in Russia

Streaming giant Netflix has announced it has paused all future projects and acquisitions from Russia.

22:47 GMT/ 16:47 CST: Ukrainian special forces will no longer capture Russian artillerymen

The Kyiv Independent reported that the command of Ukraine’s Special Operations Forces has warned that it will kill captured Russian artillerymen in response to their “brutal shelling” of civilians and cities.

22:40 GMT/ 16:40 CST: EA removes Russian teams from FIFA 2022

Games publisher Electronic Arts announced they will remove the Russian national team and all other Russian teams from FIFA 22 and associated games

22:32 GMT/ 16:32 CST: Mercedes-Benz will suspend the export of passenger cars and vans to Russia

Mercedes-Benz tweeted they will suspend the export of passenger cars and vans to Russia as well as the local manufacturing in Russia until further notice.

22:27 GMT/ 16:27 CST: NBC says the U.S. has delivered several hundreds of FIM-92 Stinger units to Ukraine

22:15 GMT/ 16:15 CST: Germans Seize Russian Billionaire Alisher Usmanov’s Mega-Yacht

Forbes reported from three sources in the yacht industry that one of Alisher Usmanov’s prized possessions-the 512-foot yacht Dilbar has been seized by German authorities.

The 512-foot yacht Dilbar, valued at nearly $600 million

22:03 GMT/ 16:03 CST: Recognized cheff Jose Andres is in Ukraine helping people

21:40 GMT/ 15:40 CST: The US will impose sanctions on Russia’s defense sector

Secretary Antony Blinken confirmed the Americans imposed new sanctions and restrictions imposed to Russia.

“The value of President Putin’s “war fund” has vanished,” Blinken said.

21: 24 GMT/ 15:20 CST: Four Russian fighter jets briefly entered Swedish territory over the Baltic Sea

Four Russian fighter jets briefly entered Swedish territory over the Baltic Sea, the Swedish Armed Forces informed.

Swedish MoD condemned this violation.

21: 10 GMT/ 15:10 CST: Ukraine authorities confirm planned attack on president

Oleksiy Danilov, secretary of Ukraine’s National Security and Defense Council, said on Ukrainian television on Tuesday that his country received information about a planned assassination attempt on President Volodymyr Zelensky

21:00 GMT/ 15:00 CST: Russian cruise missile was aimed at one of the Ukrainian control centers

Russian cruise missile was aimed at one of the Ukrainian control centers but was downed over the Kyiv city center by air defense.

20:30 GMT/ 14:30 CST: Russia bombed Kyiv’s central railway station while hundreds (perhaps thousands) of people – including children – were waiting for a train to evacuate

20:00 GMT/ 14:00 CST: Russian invaders kill 19-year-old Ukrainian biathlete star-turned-soldier near Kharkiv

19:40 GMT/ 13:48 CST/ China Asked Russia to Delay Ukraine War Until After Olympics, U.S. Officials Say

The New York Times published that Western intelligence report indicates that Chinese officials had some level of knowledge about President Vladimir Putin’s war plans or intentions.

19:14 GMT/ 13:14 CST: Russia expells US Ambassador John Sullivan

US ambassador to Russia John Sullivan has been expelled from Russia.

The expulsion of US Ambassador from Russia is the second case in the history of their diplomatic relations.

19:06 GMT/ 13:06 CST: $1 million bounty on Vladimir Putin’s head offered by Russian businessman

18:50 GMT / 12:50 CST: Russian forces become more aggressive

An unnamed senior defence official in the USA has provided an update on the situation and claimed that Russia is becoming more aggressive in the way it is targeting Ukrainian cities. “We’ve observed, certainly as you have all observed, an increase in missiles and artillery that is targeting the city and this increasing aggressiveness in terms of just the iron that they’re lobbing into the city,” the official said.

18:30 GMT / 12:30 CST: Georgia will also apply to join the EU

The ruling party in Georgia, Georgian Dream, has said that the country will also apply for EU membership immediately. This follows the steps that Ukraine has been taking to become a member state.

18:10 GMT / 12:10 CST: Ukraine claims to have killed over 7,000 Russian soldiers

Oleksiy Arestovich, a Ukrainian military advisor to the president, has claimed in an interview than more than 7,000 Russian soldiers have been killed since the start of the invasion.

17:45 GMT / 11:45 CST: Russia’s plan was to take over Ukraine in 15 days

Russian documents have reportedly been intercepted and they reveal that this invasion of Ukraine was approved on January 22, while they add that Russia expected the entire takeover to be completed in 15 days.

17:15 GMT / 11:15 CST: UN officially deplores the invasion of Ukraine

The UN General Assembly has approved a motion that calls for Russia to withdraw troops, with 141 votes in favour, five votes against and 35 abstentions. The assembly also officially “deplores” the invasion “in the strongest possible terms”.

16:45 GMT / 10:45 CST: Speech from Ukraine’s ambassador to the United Nations

Sergiy Kyslytsya, Ukraine’s ambassador to the United Nations, has given a speech to colleagues at the UN. “What was the point of repeating the slogan ‘never again’ in eighty years?” he lamented.

16:25 GMT / 10:25 CST: WHO release statement expressing concern

The World Health Organization (WHO) have made a statement on the conflict via Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus. “We are deeply concerned about reports of attacks on health facilities and health workers,” he started. “The sanctity and neutrality of healthcare, including of health workers, patient supplies, transport and facilities, and the right to safe access to care must be respected and protected. [Such attacks] arein violation of international humanitarian law.”

16:00 GMT / 10:00 CST: Klitschko brothers thank civilian fighters

Vitali Klitschko and Wladimir Klitschko have spoken to the BBC and have praised the efforts of the civilian fighters. “People are proud of them,” Vitali said. “What would you do if someone gets in to your house? You defend it.”

15:40 GMT / 09:40 CST: Russia plans prison for fake news

Reports claim that the Russian parliament are looking to pass legislation that would see anyone spreading “fake news” about the conflict in Ukraine imprisoned. There could be sentences of up to 15 years.

15:10 GMT / 09:10 CST: Russia travels for more peace talks

According to the Belta News Agency, in Belarus, a delegation from Russia is currently travelling to an unnamed location for more peace talks with their Ukrainian counterparts.

14:30 GMT / 08:30 CST: Boris Johnson criticises Putin

The SNP’s Westminster leader Ian Blackford has called for Russian president Vladimir Putin to be prosecuted for the “full range” of war crime charges available, which UK prime minister Boris Johnson seems to be in favour of.

“What we have seen already from Vladimir Putin‘s regime in the use of the munitions that they have already been dropping on innocent civilians, in my view, already fully qualifies as a war crime,” Johnson replied to Blackford.

“I know that the ICC prosecutor is already investigating, and I am sure the whole House will support that.”

14:00 GMT / 08:00 CST: Russia looks to capture Zaporizhzhia nuclear power plant

Russian forces have secured the area around the Zaporizhzhia nuclear power plant, according to the UN’s nuclear watchdog chief Rafael Grossi, with this being Europe’s largest power plant and having six out of Ukraine’s 15 nuclear energy reactors.

13:30 GMT / 07:30 CST: Ukraine-Russia talks to resume

The peace talks between Ukraine and Russia will be resumed today, CNN is reporting, citing a Ukrainian presidential aide.

13:00 GMT / 07:00 CST: More than 2,000 Ukrainian civilians have died

More than 2,000 Ukrainian civilians have been killed since the Russian invasion, according to Ukraine’s emergency service.

12:30 GMT / 06:30 CST: UK parliament applauds Ukrainian ambassador

Ukraine‘s ambassador to the United Kingdom, Vadym Prystaiko, received a standing ovation from the MPs in the House of Commons on Wednesday afternoon. Many of the MPs are wearing yellow and blue ribbons to show their solidarity for Ukraine.

12:00 GMT / 06:00 CST: Kharkiv council building hit by missile

A Russian cruise missile has hit a local city council building in Kharkiv, as shown by the photo of Roman Semenukha, deputy head of Kharkiv Regional State Administration.

11:30 GMT / 05:30 CST: Collaboration between Ukraine and the UK

Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskiy has confirmed that there are ‘coordinated actions’ between his government and the United Kingdom prime minister Boris Johnson.

11:00 GMT / 05:00 CST: China won’t impose financial sanctions on Russia

China will not follow the likes of the United States and European governments in imposing financial sanctions on Russia, according to Guo Shuqing, the chairman of the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission.

“We will not join such sanctions, and we will keep normal economic, trade and financial exchanges with all the relevant parties,” he said.

“We disapprove of the financial sanctions, particularly those launched unilaterally, because they don’t have much legal basis and will not have good effects.”

10:30 GMT / 04:30 CST: Second round of talks between Russia and Ukraine?

The Kremlin has said Russian officials are ready to hold a second round of talks with Ukraine on Wednesday, although Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskiy made clear on Tuesday that Russia must first stop the bombing of Ukrainian cities before talks could take place.

10:00 GMT / 04:00 CST: New sanctions against Belarus

Belarus has shown its support for Russia‘s invasion of Ukraine, which has led the European Union to approve new sanctions against Alexander Lukashenko‘s country.

The sanctions will look to hit “some economic sectors, and in particular timber, steel and potassium,” the statement said.

09:30 GMT / 03:30 CST: Zelenskiy’s warning

Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskiy has claimed that almost 6,000 Russians have been killed in the first six days of Russia‘s invasion, while he also stated that Vladimir Putin would not be able to take Ukraine with bombs and airstrikes.

“This strike proves that for many people in Russia our Kyiv is absolutely foreign. They don’t know a thing about Kyiv, about our history. But they all have orders to erase our history, erase our country, erase us all,” said Zelenskiy.

09:00 GMT / 03:00 CST: Casualties in Kharkiv

The regional governor of Kharkiv, Ukraine‘s second largest city, has confirmed that least 21 people have been killed and 112 wounded from Russian shelling.

08:30 GMT / 02:30 CST: Overnight attack on Kharkiv

Kharkiv, Ukraine‘s second largest city, was targeted by the Russians last night. Ukrainian authorities have said that Russian airborne troops landed and engaged in heavy fighting with Ukrainian forces at roughly 3am local time. This came after Russia had looked to take out the region’s administrative building on Freedom Square on Tuesday.

08:00 GMT / 02:00 CST: US bans Russian flights from its airspace

United States president Joe Biden has announced that Russian flights are now not allowed to fly over its airspace.

“Tonight, I’m announcing that we will join our allies in closing off American airspace to all Russian flights, further isolating Russia and adding an additional squeeze on our economy,” said Biden.



from WordPress https://ift.tt/qfRXp4z
via IFTTT

Post a Comment

0 Comments